Crowborough Hockey Club est 1968

A brief look at the beginnings of CHC....

Crowborough Hockey Club was formed in December 1968 at an inaugural meeting at the Wolfe Recreation Ground, Crowborough by a small collective of hockey-loving enthusiasts. 16 players joined the first practice game at the Wolfe on Sunday 18th January 1969.
In attendance were Tony Gliddon, Brian Ware, M Vidler, Derek Prangnell, Doug Treacher, D Eldritt, D Jeggo, Peter Barford, R Smith, P Lynch, J Saunders, D Green, B Nye and M Stewart. The first competitive match was played against Crawley on 25th January with a final score of 4-4.

By mid February the club had grown and Crowborough Hockey Club was able to field 2 men's sides, with a total of 32 playing members. Initially the teams took a while to ‘bed-in' and after a significant loss or two, goals started to appear on the scorecards. In these early games goal scorers included the likes of John Schumacher, Peter Barford, Tony Gliddon, Brian Nye and Alan Patterson. An "able and spectacular goalkeeper", Gary May joined the club as a relatively inexperienced player. And it was at this stage that our much treasured Ron Easton was making his appearance as an "enthusiastic winger", making many a dash up the right wing, and seemingly stressing the opposition defence.

The first Annual General Meeting of the club was held at the end of their first season, on Monday 28th April 1969 at the W.I. hall in Crowborough. They celebrated a club membership of 41 players. In his report the secretary, Derek Prangnell wrote "Such has been the enthusiasm that the ladies have also formed their section, and their membership is now 23". It was at this meeting that the club, currently playing in white shirts and blue shorts, decided they needed a more distinctive colour to set them apart from the rest of the teams in the County. It was then that our infamous orange was born! Or tangerine, to be more precise.

Elected officers for the first full season, 1969/70 were:

President: T Sharam
Vice-Presidents: A Brown, R Millard, R Nye, A Depree, G Risby, C Walters, L Whittick, N Mott, C Smith, C Walters
Chairman: Bob Carmacho
Men's 1st XI Captain: Brian Ware
Men's 2nd XI Captain: D Scobie
Sunday Captain: G Ellway
Honorary Secretary: Derek Prangnell
Honorary Treasurer: J Whittard
Hon Team Secretary: A Gliddon
Hon Fixture Secretary: Doug Treacher
Hon Press Officer: Brian Nye
Ladies Captain: Mrs Elinor Risby
Hon Secretary: Miss T Froude
Hon Treasurer: Mrs B Skinner
Hon Team Secretary: Mrs G Browning
Hon Fixture Secretary: Mrs V Oswell
General Committee: Miss H Waller, Peter Barford, Mrs J Bridger, Brian Nye, T Bird, and
Mrs J Schumacher

CHC - Good Practice Guidelines

CHC Club Rules